Forgive and Forget

With sweet briar’s simplicity
And dwarf sunflower’s adoration,
Veronica’s fidelity and
Honeysuckle’s devoted affection,
I plead with you to forgive
And forget as blue scilla would,
And know I’ve banned convolvulus
Forever as I should!
Be not as the snapdragon
Who says “No” to tender pleas!
Or the bear’s ear who will not hear
Or grant my soul relief.
Extend to me your comfort
As the kind geranium, scarlet,
Send my way your true love
That will me-not-forget.
Grant to me the promise
Of the valley bell flower of May.
And send red poppy’s consolation
For my heart today. 

Cherel S. Justice

About Cherel

I love to read. I also enjoy journaling, writing poetry, sharing faith and encouragement with others, and blogging! Hope you are blessed by my site.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Relationships, The Language of Flowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

