Loving Too Much

It’s too much when I question my value.
It’s too much when I put myself down.
It’s too much when I go beyond measure
To avoid doubtful looks or frowns.

It’s too much when I let my emotions
Wreak havoc on stomach and nerves.
It’s too much when your happiness means
So much, I give without reserve. 

It’s too much when my heart’s in depression.
It’s too much when my body can’t sleep.
It’s too much when I mourn beyond reason
Crushed by thoughts making me weep. 

It’s too much when I suffer rejection.
When loneliness haunts all my ways.
When abandonment threatens my soul
With a fear born in yesteryear’s days. 

True love will bring pleasure and solace,
Through acceptance and with a warm touch.
It’s not built on pain and discomfort.
If that’s what’s involved– it’s too much! 

Cheryl S. Justice 

I wrote this poem many years ago after reading Women Who Love Too Much by Robin Norwood. I learned a lot from the book and I would recommend it for anyone who has co-dependency issues and allows themself to become enmeshed  in any type of “loving” relationships that become addicting, debilitating and degrading. That’s not true love.  

About Cherel

I love to read. I also enjoy journaling, writing poetry, sharing faith and encouragement with others, and blogging! Hope you are blessed by my site.
This entry was posted in Communication, Friendship, Marriage, Poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

