My Mother’s Place

There is no one who can
Take the place of Mother.
I long to hear her voice
And see her one more time.
I’d like to share with her
About so many special things;
Hear her talk about her children,
Show her mine.

She never even lived
To see her children grown.
She never got to see
One grandchild’s face.
In all the years I live,
Her loss, I’ll ever know.
Because there’s no one who can
Take my Mother’s place.

Cherel Justice

Tribute To My Mother

Charlotte Earlene Ridenour
April 23, 1934 to November 24, 1972 

About Cherel

I love to read. I also enjoy journaling, writing poetry, sharing faith and encouragement with others, and blogging! Hope you are blessed by my site.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Mother’s Place

  1. Cherel says:

    Deborah wrote: “Happy Mother’s Day Cherel! I’ll never forget your Mother as long as I live. She is a Beautiful Woman inside and out. I love you. I hope your Mother’s Day is as wonderful as you are!…Love You…Deb”

  2. LINDA SUE ROCHELL says:

    Cherel, Thank you for sharing your life and heart. You and Bro. Mike have been so Blessed and I am glad. David and I really enjoy running our two room motel, even have our motel sign up now. ha We have met some really interesting folk. Have had some as far as The Netherlands and Australia. Amy gave us a little grandson Samuel, borned April 13, weighed 9lbs. 9.2 oz. We went up and spent a few days with them.
    If you are even in this area do drop in to see us. Gary’s Linda has been a nana to David Elliot’s little boy Levi, he turned three in April. His mom received her R.N. degree this morning so Linda has been a real help with Levi. Hope you have a great day tomorrow. Linda Sue

    • Cherel says:

      Hi Linda. It’s so good to hear from you. Sounds like your motel is opening new doors for you relationally. That’s great. Congratulations! Another grandson is wonderful news. I do hope Mike will have more free time follwoing his retirement from the church. We’d love to see you all. Ishah misses her Nana Linda. Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day. Mine was nice. Love, Cherel

  3. Brad Cook says:

    Love the poem honoring your mother…I am very happy to have met her, though it’s hard to believe she’s been gone so long.

  4. Cherel says:

    Hi, Brad. It’s so good to hear from you, Been thinking about you a lot lately. The loss of a mother at an early age is a great loss, and one we share. And, having known each other’s mother is as well. Hope all is well with you. Thank you for commenting. Miss you.

    • Brad Cook says:

      Hello my friend of many years. It just occurred to me that I should find your blog again and read your reply to my message (back in February…wow!). I know that you, Mike and I all were 18-or-so when our mother’s died, something that probably made us all grow up a little quicker than the otherwise may have. I also think often of you and miss you…and I will always love singing with you. Brad.

Leave a Reply

