Not Blood Alone

I greet you as a friend–
As I’m not any other.
Your sister I can never be–
And not your mother.

Only ancient ancestral blood
Flows through our kindred veins,
So, we are denied the legal bond
A family name can claim.

But friendship is a haven,
As I hope that you’ve been shown,
A blessed anchor for the soul,
For love’s not based on blood alone.

So, count on me to be here,
Whene’er you have a need,
For a faithful friend nearby you
May a distant kin exceed!

Cherel Justice

About Cherel

I love to read. I also enjoy journaling, writing poetry, sharing faith and encouragement with others, and blogging! Hope you are blessed by my site.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

