Nameless Danger

He stopped and asked directions.
He perceived this was the way
That, without fail, would net his
Chosen victim for that day.

He saw them at a distance,
Two young children in a glance,
A young girl with her brother.
Yes, this was a perfect chance.

Pulling near, he beckoned to them.
They came close – within his range,
Not suspecting a molester
Would leave them ever changed.

He pretended he must know which
Way to turn to get somewhere.
They didn’t know but, by his window,
They conversed without a care.

She was taller. She was closer. And
His questions drew her near.
She could see inside the car now.
She was captured in his snare.

He exposed himself with pleasure.
His lust was gratified
As he “opened her eyes” and sullied
The naive child at his side.

As his mission was accomplished,
Without remorse, he disappeared.
The guilt and shame were hers alone
To carry through the years.

That event was never mentioned,
But her life would bear the mar.
She was ravaged by a stranger,
Nameless danger in a car.

Cherel Justice

This poem is based a real incident in my life when I was seven or eight years old. My brother and I were playing near our home in Oregon. The world seemed a safer place back in the early sixties and I don’t recall ever being warned about the danger involved in that kind of situation. Looking back, I realize how dangerous it was and how blessed I am that I wasn’t kidnapped and physically abused or worse.

I was in my thirties before I would even discuss the event beyond having mentioned it to my husband. It was too painful for me.

Then, I read a Reader’s Digest article on child molesters and realized the incident was his fault not mine. I had always blamed myself for allowing it to happen. Every word he said and what he did was seared into my memory for all the time I kept it to myself. But, once I discovered the truth and opened up to others about it, those memories faded and lost their painful edge. 

I’m grateful for the article I read and I share this now in hope that it will bring encouragement and freedom to someone else who has suffered as a result of some type of molestation. It is not your fault. The aggressor bears the responsibility for what happened. You don’t have to carry it alone any longer. Please share your pain with someone you trust so you can finally let it go and move on.   

About Cherel

I love to read. I also enjoy journaling, writing poetry, sharing faith and encouragement with others, and blogging! Hope you are blessed by my site.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

