Should Christians Love Muslims?

The majority of the books I’ve read through the years have been Christian books. They’ve been based on the Bible worldview and were often scripture laden. The most challenging aspect of such a reading habit is making sure the message being shared lines up with God’s Word–rightly divided.

I did read history books and strayed into some self-help books on a variety of topics and some science books and magazines to keep abreast of current thought in those fields. And I’d read about the odd topic or a novel here and there, but really my life is Bible based and everything is filtered through that reliable lens.

The last few years I have broadened my subject matter into the political realm and have begun to study current issues trying to understand how we got into the mess we are in and where we are headed in the natural as well as the spiritual realm.

Writing my blog has exposed me to other blogs and I’ve gotten into some “heavy” conversations about current events and even the fundamental doctrines of the Christian faith. I’ve found the exchanges challenging at times because I love to get along with everyone. I would much rather be agreeable than contrarian, but the defense of truth is like a fire in my bones.  However, I do realize we are to speak the truth in love and I try.

All of that brings me to what’s been on my mind lately. I’ve read lots of material about Islam and that information can have an inflammatory effect if one does not guard the heart with great diligence as Proverbs instructs us to.

As a lover of God and His Chosen People, the Israelites, it’s easy to lean toward siding with Israel against the Arabs. In fact, it seems to be the natural response. But, as Christians, our response isn’t supposed to be the natural one!  

Jesus told us to love our enemies. He said to pray for our enemies. He said to feed our enemies and to give them a cup of cool water in His name. We are certainly to share the good news with our enemies as we have opportunity.

Does this mean we can’t support the Jews? Not at all! We are to love all our “neighbors” and do good to all of them, regardless of their ethnicity, color, language or creed! We can actually love Jews and Arabs at the same time.

Even though we see Muslims going on murderous rampages in the streets, and even when we hear of the bombings and destruction caused by their misguided Jihad activities, we are to love them for Christ’s sake. Their eternal souls are at stake!

Islam is a tyrannical and expansionistic political/religious regime. Most Muslims were born under its teachings and control. Many others live in lands that were conquered and forced into submission to the laws of Islam. For most Muslims, their religious affiliation is not by choice. The majority of Muslims are illiterate and have never even read the Quran. They are taught to hate non-Muslims and engage in Jihad by extremist Imams.

Why am I going here? I’m going here because so many things seek to divide us. It’s so easy to distrust, misunderstand and reject those who look, act and speak differently than we do. This behavior leads to hatred. I’m reminding myself and I’m reminding you that we haven’t “walked a mile” in the other man’s shoes and we should not judge. We are called to share God’s love with everyone we come into contact with.

The media seeks to distract us away from the truth and to distort reality. Our human nature tends toward blaming the nearest scapegoat for our troubles. Only the Bible instucts us with the uncompromised truth. Paul tells us who the real enemy is.

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.   Eph 6:12 NIV

There has never been a time when recognizing the truth about our enemy is more critical to our spirirtual well-being. We must be alert and aware to survive these perilous times.

Jesus is coming soon. The signs of the times are becoming clearer by the day. It is high time for the church to “Repent and do the first works.” It’s time to return to our first love when it was easy to love everybody! And, because of our hope in soon becoming like Him, it’s time to “purify” ourselves as “He is pure.” 1 John 3:3

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.” Matt 7:21 NIV

     The Judge is at the door! That which we do, we must do quickly.

                                                    JESUS LOVES YOU and MUSLIMS TOO!

About Cherel

I love to read. I also enjoy journaling, writing poetry, sharing faith and encouragement with others, and blogging! Hope you are blessed by my site.
This entry was posted in Bible, Current Events, Salvation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Should Christians Love Muslims?

  1. Dear Cherel, It was a good blog from you,

    But I would like to make an adjustment to your articles, which said;
    “The majority of Muslims are illiterate and have never even read the Quran. They are taught to hate non-Muslims and engage in Jihad by extremist Imams.”
    This not a defensive comment but to open your eye, that our first relivation from God in Quran is “Iqra” mean Read It. This is the first word/ engagement of our prophet Muhammad to God. If you can find in any history book, Muslim is the one who are make use the paper in enlightenment era of Muslim, founder of paper is still China.
    Any Muslim must read Quran a least 27 times a day, must remember a least 2~3 chapter of Quran (this is the most low Muslim), some scholar are remember the whole Quran without reading it, and we call it, Hafiz (Person who Remember Whole Quran).

    Jihad is a way of Islam to bring Justice, Purist the Heart, and Remembering God. One of jihad is to make sure that Fundamental of Islam is been forward and respected. Its not just war.
    Refer to my articles http://hifzanshafiee.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/understanding-fundamental-christianity-and-islam/

    • Cherel says:

      Dear Hifzan,

      I appreciate you reading and commenting on my blog. I also read your blog and enjoyed it. It is good to communicate and build understanding. I have read that jihad has an inner aspect focused on struggling within to purify the heart, as you mentioned. That is surely good. But, it is also true that jihad is an act of war that attempts to make the entire world submit to Islam and that is unacceptable.

      Jesus taught His followers to love their enemies and to do them good. He came to set captives free! Freedom allows people to make their own choices even bad choices. Yahweh wants us to love Him freely because He loves us. Thats why He sent Jesus to die for our sins so we could have the opportunity to freely choose to follow Him.

      I noticed on your site you were wondering if Christians pray and how they pray because you dont see them pray openly and regularly like Muslims do. True Christians who love God and believe the Holy Bible is true do pray, but it is usually in private. Jesus used to go out into the desert places and wilderness places to pray alone. And He taught His followers to do the same to spend time alone with their Father, God, so that He could commune with them and change their hearts in a very personal way. Jesus actually said, Pray in secret and your Father will reward you openly. And, He also taught His followers to avoid lengthy prayers based on vain repetitions. He said, When you pray, dont babble on and on as people of other religions do. They think their prayers are answered merely by repeating their words again and again. Rather, Jesus said, your Father knows exactly what you need even before you ask him! (Matthew 6:7-8)

      As for Christian worship, Christian do bow down at various times to worship God but, again, it is mostly in private. In church services Christians may sit, stand, kneel or even lay on the floor at times. The position is not the focus. We believe worship involves the heart more than the outward position. Although, I must say, when the Lord feels very near it seems very natural to bow down. Was bowing what you wondered about?

      You seemed to doubt that Christians tithe. You are right that not all people who call themselves Christians tithe, but Faithful Christians do. No one makes Christians follow the teachings of the Bible. Christians are free to respond to Gods Word and Spirit as they feel led to. The New Testament says, God loves a cheerful giver. Let every man give as he determines in his own heart. Good Christians believe giving is good and give freely. They support their churches and help feed and clothe the needy all around the world while sharing the good news about freedom in Christ Jesus.

      I hope these comments give you a better understanding of Christianity. Thank you for visiting my site. Please come again. Reply

  2. Dear Cherel,

    I am very glad that I meet you in this blog, I was very hard to find Christian that know Christian very well.

    We also as an outsider do not know how Christian was praying, if you can write a blog to it, and I may read it. Because we thought, we have a guideline how to pray, so same as by others religion. As one of the biggest religion the world, there must be a proper guideline how to worship and the prayer been done alone. As I also ready some verse in Bible, Jesus bow his head to earth to worship his God (but that stop there only). I am going to subscribe your blog, so I can understand your religion better.

    Because I remember from our prophet said, when he meet Moses at sky, Moses told him, reduce the prayer from 50x to 5 times only. Because at that time Moses said his follower even thought are strong bodies and mind also can not commit to this prayer (Mean very hard). [I know you do not believe this stories]. But do you find in your scripture that Jewish prayer 50 times or more?

    Regarding Jihad, most of outsider, ie non-Muslim and Muslim also, are very confuse with this word. May be I going to write in a full articles regarding this, What, How, Where, Jihad can be perform and and rules pertaining this matter. Jihad has a very long quote, and we respect that as one of our way of live. Yes as you say, there was a war in Jihad, but it was always a last resolve. The was many Muslim which misinterpret the word and kill all innocent people. And this is not consider Islamic Way.

    If you do not mind you may subscribe and comment to my blog, because I also need to know others belief and concept of Christianity.

  3. Cherel says:

    Dear Hifzan,

    I am sending you a few of the many Bible passages about prayer. Some from the Old Testamant and some from the New Testament. I’ve never heard of Jews praying 50 times or more. Faithful Jews pray 3 times a day facing Jerusalem, just as Daniel did. Christians have no set number of daily prayer times or Holy Places to pray toward. They pray at all times and in all places as they see the need– but mostly in private as I said before.

    The Bible mentions that people bowed down to worship Jesus because they knew He was God. It nowhere says that Jesus bowed His head to the earth to worship God. It does say Jesus “bowed His head on the cross and released His Spirit” when He died for our sins. John 19:30

    The passage in the Bible that most resembles the story about Muhammad and Moses is a story in the book of Genesis about Abraham pleading with God to spare Sodom and Gomorrah from destruction. They go from 50 to 10. See what you think.

    “So the Lord told Abraham, “I have heard a great outcry from Sodom and Gomorrah, because their sin is so flagrant. I am going down to see if their actions are as wicked as I have heard. If not, I want to know.” The other men turned and headed toward Sodom, but the Lord remained with Abraham. Abraham approached him and said, “Will you sweep away both the righteous and the wicked? Suppose you find fifty righteous people living there in the city—will you still sweep it away and not spare it for their sakes? Surely you wouldn’t do such a thing, destroying the righteous along with the wicked. Why, you would be treating the righteous and the wicked exactly the same! Surely you wouldn’t do that! Should not the Judge of all the earth do what is right?” And the Lord replied, “If I find fifty righteous people in Sodom, I will spare the entire city for their sake.” Then Abraham spoke again. “Since I have begun, let me speak further to my Lord, even though I am but dust and ashes. Suppose there are only forty-five righteous people rather than fifty? Will you destroy the whole city for lack of five?” And the Lord said, “I will not destroy it if I find forty-five righteous people there.” Then Abraham pressed his request further. “Suppose there are only forty?” And the Lord replied, “I will not destroy it for the sake of the forty.” “Please don’t be angry, my Lord,” Abraham pleaded. “Let me speak—suppose only thirty righteous people are found?” And the Lord replied, “I will not destroy it if I find thirty.”
    Then Abraham said, “Since I have dared to speak to the Lord, let me continue—suppose there are only twenty?” And the Lord replied, “Then I will not destroy it for the sake of the twenty.”
    Finally, Abraham said, “Lord, please don’t be angry with me if I speak one more time. Suppose only ten are found there?” And the Lord replied, “Then I will not destroy it for the sake of the ten.” When the Lord had finished his conversation with Abraham, he went on his way, and Abraham returned to his tent.” Genesis 18:20-33

    Passages about prayer:
    As a captive in Babylon, “Daniel…went into his house; and his windows being open in his chamber toward Jerusalem, he kneeled upon his knees three times a day, and prayed, and gave thanks before his God…” Daniel 6:9-11 [Daniel was a prophet of God who was visited by angels and given visions of end time events, He was a man “greatly beloved by God and it was his regular practice to pray 3 times a day.]

    King David mentioned praising God 7 times a day. “Seven times a day do I praise thee because of thy righteous judgments.” Psalm 119:164 [This was David’s practice– no one elses.]

    Jesus: “And it came to pass in those days, that he went out into a mountain to pray, and continued all night in prayer to God.” John 6:12

    “But Jesus often withdrew to the wilderness for prayer.” Luke 5:16

    Instructions for prayer:

    Once Jesus was in a certain place praying. As he finished, one of his disciples came to him and said, “Lord, teach us to pray, just as John taught his disciples.”
    Jesus said, “This is how you should pray:

    “Father, may your name be kept holy. May your Kingdom come soon.
    Give us each day the food we need, and forgive us our sins, as we forgive those who sin against us. And don’t let us yield to temptation.”

    “When, teaching them more about prayer, he used this story: “Suppose you went to a friend’s house at midnight, wanting to borrow three loaves of bread. You say to him, ‘A friend of mine has just arrived for a visit, and I have nothing for him to eat.’ And suppose he calls out from his bedroom, ‘Don’t bother me. The door is locked for the night, and my family and I are all in bed. I can’t help you.’ But I tell you this—though he won’t do it for friendship’s sake, if you keep knocking long enough, he will get up and give you whatever you need because of your shameless persistence.”

    “And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.

    “You fathers—if your children ask for a fish, do you give them a snake instead? Or if they ask for an egg, do you give them a scorpion? Of course not! So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him.” Luke 1:1-13 NLT

    Jesus said, “But I say, love your enemies! Pray for those who persecute you!” Matt 5:44

    Paul said, “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.” Phil 4:6

    “I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men” 1Tim 2:1

    James said, ” Are any of you suffering hardships? You should pray. Are any of you happy? You should sing praises. Are any of you sick? You should call for the elders of the church to come and pray over you, anointing you with oil in the name of the Lord. Such a prayer offered in faith will heal the sick, and the Lord will make you well. And if you have committed any sins, you will be forgiven. Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and produces wonderful results. Elijah was as human as we are, and yet when he prayed earnestly that no rain would fall, none fell for three and a half years! Then, when he prayed again, the sky sent down rain and the earth began to yield its crops. James 5: 13-18

    I hope these passages help you understand the nature of Christian prayer.

    As for your comments about jihad. I have read the Koran and some of the other writings of Islam. They seem to clearly teach Muslims to fight those who do not believe in Allah and his prophet. I am glad all Muslims do not practice the jihad of war but many do. I am saddened by the many acts of terror committed by Islamic terrorists around the world today. Are you?

    I will join your site and try to learn more about your beleifs and practices.

  4. Thank you for the reply, I will try to study that Bible verse, for your question regarding Jihad, as I promise I write in regarding of Jihad with a video mention what is Jihad for Islam.
    http://hifzanshafiee.wordpress.com/2011/07/31/jihad-in-name-of-god/

    Thank you for your support,

    Hifzan Shafiee

Leave a Reply

